naxprecision.blogg.se

Should i major in business analytics
Should i major in business analytics











should i major in business analytics

Even though my coursework briefly touched on R, but it didn’t really prepare me to be able to do anything in R independently. Excel is easy unless you get into VBA or macros, which aren’t really necessary for most analyst jobs. I don’t think anything I learned from my business degree helped me during my internships.

should i major in business analytics

Also can't major in BA without graduating late, nor can I switch out Econ for Business, Finance etc.Īny advice or insight, no matter what it is, is greatly appreciated. One seems better for the corporate world, but the other seems more versatile and I'd learn how to do more things. So I'd be either IA/Econ + a BA minor or IA/DS. One thing to know also is that my first major is International Affairs, I've already completed it and decided after my internships I want to switch gears into analytics.

should i major in business analytics

  • Won't really get any business/finance domain knowledge.
  • Won't have much exposure to Excel or decision modeling.
  • Since it's "Data Science", I'm worried that employers will expect me to know advanced machine learning or place me in a highly mathematical role, which I'm just not interested in at this time, I'm looking to be an analyst.
  • New major program, so not sure employers would know what it was.
  • Through electives I can try out some interesting tools, one in particular that interests me is spatial analytics/GIS.
  • More versatile so would be able to more effectively transition to other areas if I ever wanted to eg.
  • Stronger foundation in programming, data warehousing, data visualization.
  • Learn Python, R, SQL, data mining techniques just as in the Data Science major.
  • More exposure to Excel and business decision modeling.
  • More domain knowledge of business/finance (through Econ, even if it is quite a theoretical subject).
  • I'm particularly interested in working in the tech or cryptocurrency industries but am openminded. Importantly, I'm NOT looking to become a full-on data scientist right now, but more of a data analyst/business intelligence type role. However, my university recently started a Data Science major, and I'd like to ask for advice on the two choices. This is my second post here, I originally was going to major in Economics and minor in Business Analytics.













    Should i major in business analytics